• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Toroidals as OPTs?

The toroid core can be used to make an exceptionally good output transformer but those on the marketplace often cost more than standard E-I core type OPT's. Plitron is one company I know of that sells allegedly (I have no experience with them) good toroidal output xfmers.

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2003
As it happens, I tried a 2 x 120V to 2 x 9V 50VA transformer as an audio transformer just the other day. If you do the sums, you find that the voltage ratio is appropriate (primaries in series, secondaries in parallel) for treating the transformer as a 5ka-a to 7R load. Note that SE operation is not permissible (unless you use an anode loading choke and capacitor couple to the output transformer). In a push-pull circuit, there is theoretically no DC magnetising current, and an ungapped core (toroid) is feasible.

I drove the transformer from the output of an oscillator from a source resistance of 2k4 (representative of typical triode conditions) and loaded the secondary with a 6R8 resistor. I applied a 10kHz square wave and achieved a surprisingly good result - significantly better than that achieved by a vintage EI Woden 20W output transformer under the same conditions. Even more surprisingly, the low frequency performance was good too, although I would expect the core to be unable to sustain 50Hz at >20W without significant distortion.

Before you get too exited, bear in mind that it will be very difficult to to persuade a practical push-pull output stage to balance the output stage currents to the degree needed by an ungapped core. This is the weakness. You save money on the output transformer, but pay for it in the bias arrangements....

commercial power toroids