• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

balanced stereo tube preamp for a recording studio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
zdpinet said:
I would like to build a high quality stereo tube preamp with balanced ins and outs for my recording studio. Please note that I am a newbie in diy audio. Does anyone has any suggestions? Thanks in advance!

You could look at the mic pre version of Allen Wright's RTP available as a kit, or described in detail in his PreAmp Cookbook.

dave

zdpinet

I'd made a note to reply to your original post and mention the vacuumstate RTP's, but Dave posted whilst I was off making dinner. I second the motion.

If you get a chance to read the TPCB, do. It's got a lot of valuable information in it, and it's damn funny in places to boot.

As for the RTP sonics, I'll let you know in a few weeks when mine's finished.

<b>WT

I am also building RTP 5 rev 1 as well.</b>

Cool. It's about time other people started to build these too. I was beginning to feel lonely.:D

<b>I wonder what is the value of R2.</b>

I have 1200 ohms for it.

I ordered the last parts for mine today, so knowing how slow I am, I'd anticipate 4-6 weeks after they get here, and I'll have an RTP3C/5 and a pair of PP1Cs.
Let me know how you go.

Cheers
Brett

RTP

I have 1K for R2 at the moment. Will change to 1.2K to see how change. I will need to adjust the B+ and negative supply since it gain is really low at the moment.

What do you use for current source? Mosfet? I am using LM317 since I am lazy.

WT

<b>What do you use for current source? Mosfet? I am using LM317 since I am lazy.</b>