• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

2A3 PSE 'Arcadia' by SJS, or sorta

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello DIYers

First off, i am a beginner to tube diy, but not to electronics or HV power supplies. I have done some research on what project to build, and the choice fell on the above stated amp. For a link to the schematic, please see:
http://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~valveamp/images/ARCADIA.GIF

My incarnation will be a highly integrated amp, with input selection and possibly tone/RIAA.
However, as i have a limited budget, i will redesign the power supply. I have a copy of Duncan's PSU Designer, in which i have played around a little. I have sourced most of the tubes already, they are:

2x 6072A GE JAN from angela
2x 5687 Phliips ECG from angela
2x 5U4GB GE from angela
2x 5Y3 nos from tubeman.com
4x 2A3 Valve Art from tubeman.com

So, nothing fancy tube-wise. The 5U4's i intend to supply the 2A3's, one per channel. Choke input, two 159P (10H 125mA 155R) and a Rifa 470uF/400V cap.

Signal coupling caps i have bought a pair of 0.33uF Al, Paper in oil types from angela. I also bought two SCR tinfoil types from angela, to experiment/de-coupling.

My idea on the power supply is to slightly raise the voltage, from 260 to about 265-275, or maybe lowering plate dissipation slightly (such as 10-12W ea.), this to give the chokes a little easier time, and maybe improve regulation, i dont know.

I will use shared(L-R) supplies for the input stage/driver and the bias, using the 5Y3's. I have not simulated this, nor gotten any of the other filter chokes.