beta followers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd June 2004, 10:10 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to baggystevo82
Default beta followers

Hello,
I'm still quite new to tubes, and circuits in general to be fair. I've built a KT88 Williamson kit (Ella) and am very happy with it, but after reading through Morgan Jones's book a few times and reading lots on forums like this, I'm hungry to make improvements and start from scratch! I've seen that SRPP stages are very very commonplace in PP KT88 circuits (what I want to stick to for now) and wondered if a beta-follower would be an improvement in this situation. In Morgan Jones book he suggests that beta-followers carry the best traits from mu-followers and srpp stages in general, but then never mentions it again. Is this because it's just more complicated and he wanted to keep his designs for the book simpler? Or is it just because it's no good in this situation. Also there's very little information on beta-followers on the internet, so I'm guessing it's not widely used. Any suggestions from all you helpful experts out there?
Thanks for your help,
Steve
Old 22nd June 2004, 12:37 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Aussie DIYers have documented SUCCESS choke loading a SRPP. That idea follows the same general trend as a beta follower, but is simpler to implement.

A plate loading choke whose inductive reactance at 20 Hz. is at least 3X Rp is used in place of the upper triode's cathode resistor. A variable resistor is used in series with the choke and adjusted to make the total resistance of the LC combination = to the lower triode's cathode resistor.