• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

beta followers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I'm still quite new to tubes, and circuits in general to be fair. I've built a KT88 Williamson kit (Ella) and am very happy with it, but after reading through Morgan Jones's book a few times and reading lots on forums like this, I'm hungry to make improvements and start from scratch! I've seen that SRPP stages are very very commonplace in PP KT88 circuits (what I want to stick to for now) and wondered if a beta-follower would be an improvement in this situation. In Morgan Jones book he suggests that beta-followers carry the best traits from mu-followers and srpp stages in general, but then never mentions it again. Is this because it's just more complicated and he wanted to keep his designs for the book simpler? Or is it just because it's no good in this situation. Also there's very little information on beta-followers on the internet, so I'm guessing it's not widely used. Any suggestions from all you helpful experts out there?
Thanks for your help,
Steve

Aussie DIYers have documented SUCCESS choke loading a SRPP. That idea follows the same general trend as a beta follower, but is simpler to implement.

A plate loading choke whose inductive reactance at 20 Hz. is at least 3X Rp is used in place of the upper triode's cathode resistor. A variable resistor is used in series with the choke and adjusted to make the total resistance of the LC combination = to the lower triode's cathode resistor.

More gain and improved linearity are observed when a SRPP is choke loaded.

Steve,