• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Ideas for amp rebuild...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I knew this day would come eventually... my beloved tube amp which I built back in '96 is really sounding tired now, and seems to break down entirely too often. :( So, I think it's time to breathe some new life into this old friend. Unfortunately, though I've learned a lot about electronics since 1996 (I got my EE degree in the intervening years), it's been a very long time since I've looked at tube circuits. So, I'd like to get some fresh ideas and insight I can apply to the rebuild...

Here's what I'm starting with:

- fairly standard Mullard push-pull type circuit
- input tube is a 12AT7, 1/2 per channel
- phase splitters are 12AU7, 1 per channel
- output tube is E34L in ultralinear or triode connection (switchable), fixed bias, 2 per channel
- 6600 ohm plate-plate output trannies, 60W (Hammond 1650P)
- Power trannie is from the Assemblage ST40... 760VCT@350mA w/ 65V tap for bias supply and 6.3V filament winding
- solid state rectifiers and zener / mosfet regulators

I don't want to waste what I've already got, so that means keeping the existing transformers, and probably the output tubes as well, though I'm not stuck on the E34L. I'd like to stay as close to 50W as possible... I was thinking either UL class AB1 or perhaps triode class AB2, but I don't know much about running the EL34/6CA7 in triode class AB2... Perhaps I should use a different tube entirely? Maybe even a real triode like the sovtek 6B4-G? I'm sure there are lots of possibiities I've overlooked.