• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

help with restoring amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

Im new to tubes. I just bought this jewel from an auction, and now im trying to repair it. Is anyone here familiar with this model? All i know, it is Japanese made, and i need more specs on it... Thank you!!

Attachments

• tube1.jpg
    tube1.jpg
    83.4 KB · Views: 247
frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
SY said:
What a hoot! Are there any tubes under the chassis? I can only see one input tube on the top- surely this is a stereo amp? Solid state input stages maybe?

I was counting the tubes too... my guess is that what we have is a 6BM8 PP amp with a twin triode as an additional pre-amp gain stage. 8W/channel. Honking big OPTs for 6BM8 thou.. maybe ECL86.

Skyraider, what tubes does it have?

And a photo of the underside.

dave

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
SY said:
Fooled me- I couldn't make out a second section in the output tubes and assumed 6BQ5 or something like that.

I'm just guessing -- the Japanese do like the 6BM8.

I've just recently pulled a PP 6BM8 amp out of a console -- stripped it for everything but the 4 6BM8s -- one of the very few pulls i've got that works (it and an ELL80 stereo amp) -- those two amps bring the total to about 3%

dave

I agree that it's a stereo amp. Knowing the tube complement would help. Obviously, a schematic would help a lot. What has me wondering are the 6 controls, perhaps volume and tone for each channel. It would seem that there are not enough active devices on top to support the controls. Speculation about "sand" under the hood seems reasonable.