• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

my first post and a question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. I have been lurking for a long long time here reading anything of interest about valves because where i work i found a large (actually huge) stack of various rf and audio valves and decided to make a tube amplifier using some of those. I have at my disposal almost any equipment available for communications and audio analyzing as radio electronics quality assurance and testing is my primary field.

Also please note, i am old at 55 now and i am an electronics engineer who does read a lot. Now please don't think that i am trying to impress anyone i am just describing the situation the best i can. Anyway to make a long story short i finished constructing the preamplifier and the phase splitter (concertina with preamplifier) using the ECC84.

I do have loads of Telefunken E88CC, 12SN7GT, 6SN7, 12SG7, 5751 12AU7 etc but i wanted to understand the theory first by designing the circuit from scratch using not main stream tubes because i think it is better for learning. After tweaking and checking the loadlines i managed to get 41Vpp output (max undistorted 60Vpp) with 2,8Vpp input at 200v supply (i need the 200 volts for the 829b screens) which are more than enough to drive the 829b in saturation. Overall distortion was 0,2% and power stage will have two 829b per channel in AB1 Push Pull configuration, supplied with 500v.