Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th April 2018, 03:35 PM   #1
ziffel is offline ziffel
diyAudio Member

Default Schematic Critique – Micahel J Koster adapted for 6W6GT in PSE

Hello,

I am attempting to adapt Michael J. Koster’s Schadeode 6L6GC/5881 amp to work with 6W6GT in PSE. I am a paint-by-number builder so have limited knowledge, but am trying to learn. I would be very grateful for any criticisms and suggestions for the circuit I have come up with.

The output transformer I have is a Transcendar 10 watt 5k:8. My speakers are 4 ohm so the schematic shows it as a 2.5k:4. I hope this is OK. Would it be OK to use IXYS10M45 instead of the IXYS01N100?

Here is the link to Mr. Koster's amp that I am trying to emulate. I've attached the schematic for that as well.
Tube DIY Asylum

Thank you all for your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Schadeode - 6W6GT PSE.jpg (91.9 KB, 446 views)
File Type: png schadeode-6L6-benchtest1.png (6.9 KB, 435 views)
Old 13th April 2018, 03:45 PM   #2
GoatGuy is offline GoatGuy  United States
diyAudio Member

Well…

First and foremost, your MOSFET. ⁰¹n₁₀₀ is an enhancement mode device, meaning that it is OFF at 0 V gate bias. Having the 47 kΩ input impedance resistor hooked from gate to ground is a zero bias nominal position. Worse, with whatever current that flows thru MOSFET, the source-resistor (akin to a cathode resistor in a tube circuit) ends up negative relative biasing the gate. Even more into device's OFF condition.

“Apart from that Mrs. Lincoln, how did you enjoy the show?” … mmm is apt.