• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Rectifier tube 5AR4 sparking of Dynaco ST-70 amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, today I switched on my ST-70 amp for about half hour, then I switched it off to change the Audio cable, in 20 seconds I switched it on again and saw the blue spark in 5AR4 for 2-3seconds, then there was no any sound from both speakers. All tubes are lit up.

Can anyone give me some advice what happened for this? 5AR4 or power transformer was damaged?

Thanks in advance

Aaron

Hello Peter,

Thanks for you guidance. I have no experience in using tube stuffs, this accident afforded me a lesson and I will be more careful in operation. It seems the 5AR4 tube is not easy to be found at local store, I am searching and buying online.

Regards

Aaron

Joined 2011
Almost certainly you need a new 5AR4. There's no HV, so no sound. Is there white fuzz inside on the glass? Order one from a reliable source.

Avoid power cycling the amplifier. The rectifier tube has a built-in warm up delay, and the tube must be cold at the start for this to work properly.

Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Installing a single UF4007 in series with each plate lead (pins 4 and 6) will reduce the likelihood of 5AR4 rectifier failure. Banded end of diode faces socket. This increases PIV that the rectifier can withstand and reduces occurrence of arc over during a hot start or momentary interruption in power.

I recommend waiting 2 minutes before turning amp back on.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member