• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

ST-70 with Edcor Transformers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Still in the planning phase, considering various options for my power amp project (thanks for the suggestions guys!).

I was thinking of building a ST-70 design using an Edcor transformer, mainly the CXPP30-6.6k. A470 transformers are a little more than I'd like to spend given that I'm relatively new to this. What are the downsides to using a 6.6K 30W Edcor as opposed to the A470? Any changes I'd have to make to the design?

Also, would using a 30W transformer be a problem for this? I'm okay with running at slightly lower power than the 35W the ST-70 originally made.

In a push-pull transformer for an amp with a lot of negative feedback (like the ST-70), it helps to have very high bandwidth. I found that the Edcor push-pull transformers fell apart pretty early up top, certainly using A470 clones will give you better results. (they cost more for a reason)

If you triode strap the EL34s, you can remove the negative feedback and not worry so much about high frequency instability.

I have not had good results with the bandwidth available from Edcor's PP output transformers.

Interesting. Yet if the archives are scanned, info. from a member who successfully executed Williamson style circuitry using Edcor "iron" can be found. :scratch:

Also, what do you mean by "triode Wire finals"?

Triode wiring means connecting the screen grid of a multi-grid type to the plate by either wire or a small resistance. Triode wiring always lowers the internal impedance of the tube and very frequently improves linearity. That's the good. The bad is that power O/P is halved or worse.