• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First Phono diy

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,
I have decided to take the plunge into DIY audio. This is for a number of reasons. Primarily being price. But also that It seems like a hella lot of fun! Now I must admit that I have little electrical experience. However, after watching a number of instructional videos and research I have decided that I want to take the plunge and build a DIY phono stage. Why? because I ultimately would like a tube stereo amp, but as my speakers are too insensitive this would not be best at my stage and so I would like to first build a tube phono. Before eventually building a SE stereo amp which will drive high efficiency single extended range drivers.

I have chosen this schematic as it does not seem too complicated
RJM Audio - Tube passive phono preamplifier

However, If you have a better recommendation please let me know :)
I intend to build it using turret boards as well as basic prototype boards.
I believe I can follow the phono stage itself. So it is really the power supply stage which I would like help on.
I don't fully understand the transformer part. T1 gives out a 240v output. Do i need a transformer as I live in the UK where wall voltage 230v?
With the second transformer, will any transformer giving out 6.3 volts at 600ma plus do?
Forgive me if this is super basic stuff.
Any help is appreciated. Or links to information pages where I can learn more about this is appreciated.

A phono preamp is a very poor choice for a 1st project. Get some experience under your belt, before you try a phono preamp.