• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6sn7/6 preamp tweaking advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I have a cheap 6sn7 preamp board which is similar to this on ebay.
6Z5P+6N8P*2?6SN7?Tube Pre-amplifier Assembled Board Bile Rectifier for HIFI AMP | eBay

I was wondering is there is any possible tweak to the circuit as shown below.
I am fairly new to the tube scene so tweaking it will be a learning experience.
Also, while the circuit says 250V before the plate resistor, I am only getting around 220v for mine.

I have tried 3 other cheap tube preamp from buffer to a srpp circuit and so far this is the best sounding one using the 6sn7 (Note the tube I am using now is the Pvsane CV181 T2, 6sn7 equivalent)

TIA

Attachments

• Ziron 6sn7 2tube.jpg
    Ziron 6sn7 2tube.jpg
    105.8 KB · Views: 214
  • Ziron 6sn7 2tube 2.jpg
    Ziron 6sn7 2tube 2.jpg
    86.4 KB · Views: 219
  • Ziron 6sn7 board layout.gif
    Ziron 6sn7 board layout.gif
    285.5 KB · Views: 208
If you don't need all of the gain, remove the bypass capacitor on the input tube's cathode resistor.
This will sound better. What resistance value is the volume control?

Funny, I did exactly that. I didn't put in the cathode capacitor because I don't need the extra gain.
I used a step resistor 50k volume. I didn't know the resistance value of the volume would make a difference?

For rectifier, I am using a CBS 6x5gt. I also have a Tung Sol one to try.
I may try a solid state rectifier later to up the voltage. I have the STTH6110TV2 recommended in jeff place. But don't know how to implement that yet.
http://jeffsplace.me/wordpress/?p=7727