• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Opinions of Menno Vanderveen ( van der Veen ) PP Amps, Esp. Super-Triode

Greetings Fellow Tubaholics,

My name is George, and I have been tube-free for...
well, I *haven't* been tube-free. ; )

As further introduction--I am a relative newbie
looking for a DIY amplifier project of about 50WPC and
fantastic sound. By "fantastic", I mean those
subjective tube euphonics of openess,sweetness,
and holography.

As I have searched about, my eye has come upon
the designs of one Menno Vanderveen (or van der Veen ),
a proponent of new topologies and torroidal OPTs.

I am intrigued by his new PP designs, particularly
his Super-Triode, as described in this article on the plitron site.

This design uses both Ultralinear and cathode feedback,
and recommends SV6550C tetrodes.

As far as I can see, the potentially controversial aspects
are the new topology, and torroidal transformers. I
have no insight into the topology, but it seems to me
that the torroid offers extreme linearity and bandwidth,
at the expense of sensitivity to DC current saturation.
However, the design offers DC adjustment, so is it true
that this would not be a problem to the conscientious
tweaker?

What little comment I have heard on his designs
is positive, but I would like to get your advice
before I leap.

So I would greatly appreciate your opinions, insights
and preferences. Do you think this is an excellent
design? Why isn't it more popular? What DIY 50WPC
DIY design would you recommend to a builder seeking
excellent sonics?

Although this is my first post, I have enjoyed
reading your friendly and insightful posts. Thanks
in advance for your help.

Happy Tweaking and Listening!

George Ferguson