• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Me and my soon to be amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!
The time has finally come for me to stop lurking around and officially join this forum.
I figured since this is my first post I should write a short introduction of myself.
I'm a student from Sweden who two years ago made the choice of studying economics instead of engineering. While i really enjoy it I have always been fascinated by electronics and physics overall.
Long story short i ordered Morgan Jones Valve Amplifiers, 4th Edition a couple months ago and have been studying it and educating myself on the subject since.

The amplifier:

I have decided on an integrated class A/AB pp amplifier.
As far as the power tubes goes i have fallen for the KT88s due to their characteristics(as described by others) and the fact that they are interchangeable with 6550s and the EL34s with minor adjustments.

I just realized that i haven't really looked into any other transformers than the Hammond, they seem to have whatever i would need. I actually took a peak at the Piltron toroidals aswell, there seem to be a limited amount of amps with toroidal transformers... is the price the only reason for this?

Luckily i won't have to look far and wide to find a fitting chassis with diyaudiostore.com great variety:)

I have looked at quite a few kt88s schematics but haven't found "the one" yet.

I recently looked over lampizator.eu's modifications of different Chinese amps, specifically Music Angel XD 800 MK III and the Bewitch 6550. Both of these match my description and i though why not build the modded version directly from the schematic online?