diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   Using Telefunken "Tank" transfomers for a single ended el84 amp? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/29447-using-telefunken-tank-transfomers-single-ended-el84-amp.html)

ark 4th March 2004 12:13 AM

Using Telefunken "Tank" transfomers for a single ended el84 amp?

2 Attachment(s)
Dear friends,

I've got these Telefunken Power transformers - They weigh a ton!<br>One is marked 177v 0,4 A (whats a comma mean?) and 7.2V 20uA?

The other just: 6.3V 3.7A

I was wanting to use them for a little integrated single ended el84 style amp - like the decware zen se84cs.

I've already got some telefunken tubes and suitable output transformers....

Schematic here:

www.decware.com/se84cschematic.pdf

http://macjoejr.home.att.net/84c_kit...merlayout.html

I am a complete beginner at these things but one (or both) of them ought to work. Right?

As best as I can figure out:

I need 6.4V secondary out for the heater circut on the input and output tubes.

???V AC secondary for the rectifier. then feed that back in to somehing for the ???Volt B+?

I read in the decware schematic above:
"Your B+ voltage should be between 320~350 vdc. The Bias Voltage on your output tubes should be between 9.5 ~12 vdc when refenced to ground."

I pretty much have everything but this transfomer worked out.
Only two sets of outputs... Ugh. Can advise to help make this match up in a simple way? Any Ideas if these transformers will be acceptable?

Thanks a bunch!!!

fdegrove 4th March 2004 01:48 AM

Hi,

Quote:

One is marked 177v 0,4 A (whats a comma mean?) and 7.2V 20uA?<br>
Strange figures...

177V 0,4A should mean .4A so 400mA
7.2V 20uA??? 7 Volt and 200 mV at 20 micro ampere? I wonder what that one's for...

Quote:

The other just: 6.3V 3.7A
That would be the heater supply for god knows what...Useful to have anyway.

Quote: