• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Forgive Me DIY Audio, For I Have Sinned 10LY8

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Flush off a recent success with a mainstream tube amp (12AX7/6AQ5), I decided to rummage through my tube stash and see what oddity I could find to offend and delight my senses.

[NOTE: I'm a newbie. I can solder and use a DMM and read a schematic, and that's about it. Please be gentle. ;) ]

I came up with a quad of GE NOS 10LY8 tubes. They are nice little fat-bottle Novar tubes that appear to be a high-mu triode and a sharp-cutoff pentode in one bottle. Not that unusual, I guess, except for the heater voltage. But a quick search through Google didn't seem to turn up anyone doing anything fun with them, except for a mention here and there.

http://www.nj7p.info/Tubes/PDFs/Frank/135-GE/6LY8.pdf

http://tubedata.itchurch.org/sheets/191/6/6LU8.pdf

The heater is a 10.5 volt unit drawing 450ma. I took a 12.6 VAC 3a transformer and fed it into one of those el cheapo eBay voltage regulators, giving me 10.5 volts DC on the heater, no problem.

The PT I am using for this experiment puts out 285 VAC, and I put it through a SS bridge rectifier and then CRCRC smoothing, putting out about 340 VDC without load.

The triode unit is high-mu, with an amplification factor of 100. I don't know what I'm doing, so I treated it like a 12AX7 and put a 100K resistor on the plate and 1.2K resistor on the cathode. For now, I did not bypass the cathode resistor, I figured I could do that later. I also did not use a grid stopper or a grid leak resistor. Figure I need them but since I was just messing about, I left them off for now.