• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Phase splitter questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, New here and new to tubes. I have a degree in electronics, They didn't teach tubes anymore when I went:( Here is my problem. My phase splitter seems to be gating(or something). It will not produce output with less than a 18V P-P input. Sounds great with the preamp cranked full power. The problem is trying to play clean or even softly(By the way home made guitar amp). I will try to post a sad looking schematic of it. If someone could take a look at it and tell me what you see I would be very greatful. Any comments are welcome on any part of the design.

Attachments

• amp.gif
    amp.gif
    9.8 KB · Views: 619
You've got 212 volts on the top plate of the phase splitter and 135 volts on the bottom plate. Something is wrong here. These should be within 10%. My gut feeling is you're not pulling enough current through the phase splitter. I would go with a lower value tail resistor (the 47k).
See the Fender 5F6A bassman for a nice sounding phase splitter for 6L6.
http://www1.korksoft.com/~schem/fenderamps/bassman_5f6a_schem.pdf
The Fender AB763 phase splitter is good too.
http://www1.korksoft.com/~schem/fenderamps/pro_ab763_schem.pdf

6L6 screen resistor:
100k seems kind of high here. Most common is a separate 470 or 1k resistor to each screen. I use 1k / 5watt resistors here.

2nd and 3rd gain stage: