• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6HJ5 SET

lovely amp there Bird.
I like 45 too but seems like they are pretty expensive now. I therefore wish to try the 6HJ5 for I have couple pair Mullard. I'd go for the Edcor as of your advice. I don't have 6n7 in hand. Could I use 5670 instead? The mu/35 is almost the same as 6n7, but I'm no expert on tube. Don't know if 5670 is suitable, do I have to change the bias point.
Regards
Albert

lovely amp there Bird.

Yes and thanks to George for designing such a pretty sounding amp.

I like 45 too but seems like they are pretty expensive now. I therefore wish to try the 6HJ5 for I have couple pair Mullard. I'd go for the Edcor as of your advice. I don't have 6n7 in hand. Could I use 5670 instead? The mu/35 is almost the same as 6n7, but I'm no expert on tube. Don't know if 5670 is suitable, do I have to change the bias point.

Besides pinout the 5670 should work just fine, you don't even need to change operating point and you only need one triode since the rp is about half that of both 6N7 triodes in parallel. That means one driver tube for both channels. In fact simulation shows that the THD is a C___ hair lower than with 6N7's. I chose the 6N7's because I like the looks of the 6N7 metal cans and the 6N7G. I need to post some pics with the 6N7G.

6N7G's:hohoho:

Attachments

• P1010233.jpg
    P1010233.jpg
    441.7 KB · Views: 482
Bird,
I almost have all parts in hand, the same ptx with your build, the wood chassis and all other parts but not the opts. I didn't order the opts for the reason that I have a pair Hammond 1640se which can handle 200mA, 1.25k primary with 4,8 and 16 ohm secondary.