• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Noob question on triode

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I saw a tube amp kit where it can switch between triodes tetrode and pentode mode. So basically to switch to tetrode it's just means cutting the power one of the grid. Switching to triode is cutting power to both grids.

A true triode system would sound better than above system because the grids are in the way of the cathode and the plate even if it's not enable?

Yep I am a noob.

A pentode system should have the least distortion but less fedelity?

Pentode and tetrode mode is the same thing. Then the screen grid (g2) has fixed dc voltage.
In triode mode the screen grid and anode are connected together.

Triode mode is more linear (lower THD) and has lower output impedance, which gives better loudspeaker damping, but less power than pentode mode.

There are many beam tetrodes and pentodes that are supremely linear when triode strapped. Look at 4P1L for example.

Simply switching between triode and pentode mode without changing the circuit more profoundly strikes me as a very bad idea. In guitar amps it's getting common, but that's another thing entirely.

So if I was to build a tube amp, I should build one that uses a true triode tube if power is not what I am going after? I just need something like 3 - 10w. High fidelity is what I want. My speakers are 8ohms. Should I get 4ohms speakers for better dampling that will lead to better SQ?

It is not significant whether a tube is a true triode, or a triode strapped pentode / beam tetrode / tetrode. What matters most are

1) the curves
2) plate resistance at desired op point