Can regulated B+ act like a CCS? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th January 2016, 10:13 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Can regulated B+ act like a CCS?

I am pretty new to electronic design. Most of my experience has just been in troubleshooting and maintenance. I am trying to figure out the differences and benefits of CCS, CVS, and regulated B+, and have wound up with some questions that i could not get answered while searching.

Would a well regulated supply across a plate resistor not act like a CCS? I understand that as the resistor heats up, its resistance value changes, hence so does the current across it. But, wouldn't this eventually stabilize, or is the voltage swing across the grid force enough variation in current accross the plate resistor that it can not longer be considered constant?

How much difference in (audible) linearity would there be between a CCS and a well regulated B+?
Old 6th January 2016, 10:40 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

A plate load and a power supply are two separate functions.

A modern resistor might drift a percent or two in resistance value after a decade of use within specs.

Are you pondering plate loads?
Old 6th January 2016, 11:48 PM   #3
rayma is online now rayma  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by winegamd View Post
Would a well regulated supply across a plate resistor not act like a CCS?
Actually yes, if the value of the AC resistance to ground (the tube circuit's effective AC output resistance)