Help with input impedance - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th December 2015, 08:33 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help with input impedance

Hi folks,

I'm an electronics novice building an ST70-ish home brew amp. I would like to be able to use various input sources, including SS preamp line out, as well as headphone output from a laptop / tablet / smart phone. Would there be a problem in hooking these up directly? Or should I change the input resistor from the traditional 470K in order to present a better input impedance? If I did that, what impact would it have with regard to the grid-to-cathode reference for the input stage? Or maybe I need a buffer of some sort?

Been lurking here a long time, learning lots. Thanks guys.

Dave
Old 18th December 2015, 08:57 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Stop fretting! A problem occurs when then I/P impedance of the downstream unit is too low. Waveform fidelity is preserved, when the O/P impedance of the driving unit is low and the I/P impedance of the driven unit is high.

Close matching of impedances is needed, for max. power transfer. You are dealing with a small signal situation.

BTW, an IHF "standard" requires a SS preamp be capable of driving a power amp whose I/P impedance is 10 Kohms. The 470 Kohm I/P impedance of a ST70 is "a piece of cake".
Old 18th December 2015, 10:36 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks Eli. Can I assume that the same applies for input from the headphone jacks of the modern appliances I mentioned?