• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Help with input impedance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks,

I'm an electronics novice building an ST70-ish home brew amp. I would like to be able to use various input sources, including SS preamp line out, as well as headphone output from a laptop / tablet / smart phone. Would there be a problem in hooking these up directly? Or should I change the input resistor from the traditional 470K in order to present a better input impedance? If I did that, what impact would it have with regard to the grid-to-cathode reference for the input stage? Or maybe I need a buffer of some sort?

Been lurking here a long time, learning lots. Thanks guys.

Dave

Stop fretting! :) A problem occurs when then I/P impedance of the downstream unit is too low. Waveform fidelity is preserved, when the O/P impedance of the driving unit is low and the I/P impedance of the driven unit is high.

Close matching of impedances is needed, for max. power transfer. You are dealing with a small signal situation.

BTW, an IHF "standard" requires a SS preamp be capable of driving a power amp whose I/P impedance is 10 Kohms. The 470 Kohm I/P impedance of a ST70 is "a piece of cake".

Disabled Account
Joined 2013
So as I'm using a basic high gain pentode (EF86) input stage, and assuming I'll be driving it with a headphone level signal, what should I do for the input resistor value? Or should I just go with a lower gain input stage?

Dave