First pre phono design [newbie] - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th May 2015, 08:36 AM   #1
max1979 is offline max1979  Italy
diyAudio Member

Default First pre phono design [newbie]

Hi,

What follow is my very first attempt to design a MM pre phono based on tubes and I'm looking for an advice. It's just few weeks I'm studying valves and I've tried to collect as many info as possible.

My requirements were:
1) a bit more gain than the standard 42dB (I'd like to have an output voltage closer to the one provided by a CD reader - let's say 1V)
2) as less distortion as possible
3) not expensive tubes (and easy to find)

So I chose SRPP configuration and ECC83 as tubes to have:
- 45-46dB (including a balance control to fine tune left/right channel)
- 70dB between 1KHz and the second harmonic with max gain (HARM.jpg)
- a pretty good RIAA curve (GAINCURVE.jpg)

Now, I'm just a newbie and as any beginner I copied part of the project from other projects, so I'd like to understand if according to you I'm missing something or there is any error or any big problem I will have to face using this design.
Also, I'm going to finalize the power supply and I'd like to know what could be good voltages to biasing the heaters of the upper and lower valves.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GAINCURVE.jpg (165.4 KB, 473 views)
File Type: jpg HARM.jpg (169.4 KB, 446 views)
File Type: jpg SCHEMA.jpg (83.6 KB, 471 views)
Old 17th May 2015, 09:59 AM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator