• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Scott 299D

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my 1st post here just want to say hello To all .
I just scored a Scott299D i am going to bring back to life i am a novice on amps this is the first one i am going to do .but i have been restoring old hallicrafters shortwave radios including my SX42 . the amp doesnt have any tubes this is where i start asking questions what is the best tubes for the preamp stage it uses 12ax7's i have a new gz34s rectifier tube but the rest not sure about . i also plan on recapping agian this is different from radios LOL what type of caps? i do have a lot of orange drops in stock and also 1 watt flameproof metal oxide resistors .i also have a variac. should i try to just put tubes in it first and bring it up slowly on the variac to see what i have to work with ????i need to get a schematic also not good enough to work without one lol. i cant wait to get started on this amp and play my empire turntable and teac reel to reel with it . i appreciate any info and pointers :D

Metal oxide resistors are a signal path no/no. Metal film resistors are fine in grid to ground positions, bias test points, and in NFB loops. Being both non-inductive and non-metallic, carbon composition parts are superior in grid stopper positions. Carbon film and Mills non-inductive parts are good in the other positions.

I suggest the clean and quiet Sovtek 12AX7LPS in the phono section. I suggest the "reissue" Mullard variant for the "line" section. There are several reliable tube dealers you can deal with. My go to guy is Jim McShane and I suggest you discuss your needs with him.