New to amps - Long-tail pair and heater hum - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd January 2015, 05:51 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default New to amps - Long-tail pair and heater hum

Sorry for a longish first pose here, but it's a complicated question, for me anyway. I'm new to building (good sounding) amps, but not to tubes. I've repaired antique radios for years, sometimes replacing old tubes with new and making adjustments. But a SE pentode at 10% THD was about as far as the amp end went.

Anyway, just for the heck of it I decided to build an amp to plug an MP3 player into. A couple watts, enough to drive a small speaker. 2 12T10 compactrons, the dual-control pentodes (G1 and G3 connected together) as a long-tail pair, the beam side as a push-pull pair. A output transformer pulled from an old Conn organ I got for free and there you go. The design is strictly by the book, copied from schematics I found on the web and tweaked for the tube's characteristics. I can post a schematic if anyone cares. It works OK, 2 watts at 0.5% THD (better if I add NFB, but good enough without it) and easily driven to 2 watts with an IPod at 3/4 volume.

The problem is that there is a lot of heater hum. Heater for sure - 60Hz and running the heaters on an external DC power supply eliminates it. I know how to route heater connections, everything is twisted tight and lead well away from the rest of the wiring. The best I could find on the problem was at The Valve Wizard, which explains a bit about this circuit. The elevated cathode voltage on the long-tail pair seems part of the problem.