Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th January 2004, 03:18 AM   #1
diyAudio Moderator

Default 6N1P for buffer instead of 6DJ8, 6922

Hello,

I'm a tube newbie, I would like to build a tube buffer as my first tube project. However, the 6N1P tube is the most easiest tube that can be found locally. Can I use the 6N1P in place of the 6922 or the 6DJ8 or the ECC88 or the 12AU7?

Can anyone also point me to a proven tube buffer schematic, hopefully with solid state psu?

Thanks in advance!
JojoD
Old 18th January 2004, 04:02 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi Jojo

As far as my little experience goes, 6N1P is pretty close to the 6DJ8, 6922 family. Heater current is far higher = 2A. Give a look at headwize

One of the editions of glassware shows a project of a "no gain, no pain" pre-amplifier using one 6922 tube/channel. Actually the circuit doesn´t even show an attenuator, so it´s a buffer already. Here is the link glass-ware Take care with the high voltages.

Good luck

Erik
Old 18th January 2004, 06:29 AM   #3
diyAudio Moderator

Thank you very much! That was exactly what I was looking for. I am really seriously planning on building that circuit, hopefully to open my way on tubes and also to inject the "tube sound" to my solid state system.

However, the power supply does not give any values for the caps? Any suggested values? (I love this one, it uses descrete diodes! No extra cost for tube rectifiers )

Sincerely,
JojoD
Old 18th January 2004, 04:28 PM   #4
mcs is offline mcs  Denmark
diyAudio Member

The heater current is higher, but it is NOT 2A. It's 600mA according to the Svetlana datasheet.