Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th March 2002, 10:10 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Erik Johansson
Default Thinking of building my first tube amp. Suitable projects?

I would like some help to choose a suitable tube to build as my first tube amp project. Im not a complete newbie in electronics ie Ive been soldering for 6 years (electric powered model airplanes) so it doesn have to be EXTREMELY simple but instead i want to build a good amp that lasts a long time.

I would like to spend not more than US $300-400.

I would prefere an integrated amp but I understand there arent that many around so of course a preamp / poweramp is ok too. I would then probably build the poweramp first and use the pre-out jacks of my Harman/Kardon HK3370 receiver.

I just got my first HIFI system last week when I turned 18 consisting of: Harman/Kardon HK3370 receiver, Harman/Kardon HD750 cd-player and a pair of very nice QLN 604 speakers. I might build a ProAc Response 1SC clone if I build this tube amp).

As youve probably already understood Ive been busy for the last month studying everything I can find about this lovely hobby and speaker/amp building as I love DIY stuff. Ive been into model airplanes for 8 years and now i consider HIFI to be a fun new challenge.

/Erik
Old 6th March 2002, 10:19 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Ive been looking at this integrated amp: http://httpd.chello.nl/~j.deckers05/tg84en.htm

It looks pretty straight forward and especially the psu looks really simple.

/Erik
Old 6th March 2002, 10:25 PM   #3
diyAudio Member