1955 kids record player hum puzzle - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd July 2014, 11:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 1955 kids record player hum puzzle

I'm an amateur trying to restore an old record player (Sonic Capri from 1955) that buzzes/hums when turned on. I've replaced nearly everything: capacitors and resistors with new ones of equal value, replaced the 25C5 tube with a good-tested tube, and I replaced the selenium rectifier with the 1N4007 as recommended on many web sites. I cleaned the POTS also. I don't have the schematics so I did the best I could with the photo here (but I'd love to get a copy if anyone has the schematics). The problem is that the system still hums just as it did before I started, and I get no response at all when the needle is touched. Oddly, or perhaps not, pin 5 has no contact with anything on the board, and I don't know if this is normal or not. Any advice appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: gif kidplayer3.gif (140.9 KB, 222 views)
Old 24th July 2014, 01:10 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Your old record player does not appear to have a mains transformer. If so, this topic of discussion is not allowed.

See note #2 in the notes section.
diyAudio Rules

Last edited by cogsncogs; 24th July 2014 at 01:19 AM.
Old 24th July 2014, 01:10 AM   #3
maton00 is offline maton00  Mexico
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to maton00
The pin number 2 and the number 5 are the same (Grid 1), but what happened to the main supply capacitor?
Old 24th July 2014, 01:13 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Yo Scott,