My introduction to tube amps. The good, the bad, and the ugly. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th July 2014, 03:23 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default My introduction to tube amps. The good, the bad, and the ugly.

I have posted here a few times about these amps, and would like to say thanks to those who have tried to help me. Here is my story........

I have no experience with tube amps, and I shouldn't touch them. over the past nine months I have ruined a lot of good gear, and am about to try one last ditch effort to make something work.

I found an old Conn organ with a 2 channel amp in it, not working. I have some mechanical skills and am pretty good at figuring things out so I figured I would recap it and see how it goes. well it went great. without any knowledge of the circuit I replaced a few caps and bought some NIB Sylvania 7868's. this amp rocks, though limited in the high frequency range (over 12k).

I bought the tubes from a local guy, and while there he showed me an old Fisher Ventura that he wished he could sell to a good home. well..... I could not believe how awesome the Conn sounded so I figured for 250 bucks the working amp in the fisher should be well worth it.

Lets not forget I have very limited knowledge of tube circuitry.