• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

845 AC filaments, my experience

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently finished my all DHT low power 845 SE amp and have been tweaking and listening to it for the last six weeks. This is my first attempt at an own 'design'. I was trying to read up on all aspects of an 845 build as best I can. One of the topics was AC or DC on the filaments of course. Apart from a few, notably Jim Doyle who has done a lot of experimentation with low power 845, a lot seem to suggest that DC is the only viable solution if excessive noise was to be avoided.

I want to share my own experience for the 'googlers' that follow with their future projects. I make no comments about SQ, I've not gotten around to comparing in any case, only the amount of hum with AC on the 845 filaments.

My amp is all DHT using a 102d(modern)-RC-45/2a3-IT-845. Only the 102d filaments are on DC using a Delon doubler from a 2.5vac CT Tx with dropping resistors before rectification then CRC. The last two stages are on AC fils. All fils are on 100R 2W pots.

I measured the AC on the 8R speaker post with the speakers as load. With the 2a3 in the driver position, I can only null down to about 5-7mv. With the 45 in the same position I can null down to 3-5mv. (These are about the ranges of my first 2a3 SE also on AC fils.). On 89db and 94db speakers I'm using, these levels are only faintly audible from the listening position 3m away in a small room. (In fact the Cambridge Audio 640H music server is noisier!) I don't have more sophisticated measuring tools to tell me more.