• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

wood/metal vs all-metal chassis

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I apologize for throwing out such a rudimentary question, but my search is not getting me any definitive answers.

I have limited experience building tube amps. I have build a few projects from complete kits that include chassis and am taking the next step with building a st-70 "clone" using one of the driver board rebuild kits and sourcing the rest of the parts myself. It's been in the planning process for a year and there has yet to be any solder melted, and it will likely drag on over several more months as I find the occasional spare hour here or there to work on it.

I have everything but the chassis and I am not finding the Hammond chassis or similar offerings in the dimensions or look I want.

I don't have access to a metal shop and don't have a lot of skills with metal working, but I have a well-equipped woodshop and am a pretty competent amateur woodworker. What I would really like to do is buy a sheet of thick aluminum and use a step drill to cut the tube socket holes, buy a piece of steel for the bottom plate and drill some holes in it for ventilation and make the rest of the chassis out of nice figured wood, probably some pieces of curupay I have been saving for something special.

If you look through the photo thread, I think you'll find most (I'm sure at least 1/2) of the projects are built as you describe.. Wood side, aluminum plate for the top.

Don't put anything that will get extremely hot up against the wood.

Negatives, can't use the sides as heat sinks, and metal might offer a little better shielding (but probably not enough to matter).