PP 2A3 Fixed Bias - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 27th March 2014, 03:50 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default PP 2A3 Fixed Bias

Hey Anyone,

I'm currently building a push pull 2A3 amp for a friend. Its a mono amp that he wants to use to listen to 78's.

I've never worked with DHT tubes before and have a question. (The front end will be Pete Millet's Uniamp.) I want to use fixed bias because it results in a little more power and half the distortion. I know how to apply the bias voltage between the coupling cap the grid stopper. But how do you measure the current?

I mean the DC supply must ground through the 2.5 volt heater circuit right? And if I connect a resistor to ground between the two tube's heater supply any measurement across that resistor will be for both tube's DC component as well as some unknown quanity of AC cuurrent as well. Can anyone tell me how to do this? Or lacking that, point me to a PP 2A3 schematic?

Kevin
Old 27th March 2014, 04:01 AM   #2
multi is offline multi  Australia
diyAudio Member

You can use two DC supplies and 10 ohms to earth. I have 105Db speakers and no problem using AC with 2A3's.
You can always measure the Dc current after measuring the ohms from CT to plates. Or you can put 1 or ten ohms resistors to the plates.
Phil
Old 27th March 2014, 04:10 AM   #3
AJT is offline AJT  Philippines
diyAudio Moderator

2A3's are not prone to humming having built two SETS before...
Old 27th March 2014, 04:10 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thanks Phil,