• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

12 volt tube preamp help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

Go easy on me, i'm a newbie and know really little about electronics.

The hardest schematic i ever had to read until i starting browsing this forum a couple of months back is a 4th order passive crossover.

As yet, i have yet to create anything with regards to audio, but i have DIYed my entire car audio system(with regards to its installation that is heh) and i do have a passion for audio.

I do hope to build myself a tube amp one day, but thats another story.

In the hope of buliding up my working knowledge to that aim, i have set a slightly less ambitious project for myself, a PC audio system!

I already have a schematic (from tubecad i think) for a neat little 4w class A SS amp(attached) which some people have tried and seems to work ok. I like it cos its simple and most importantly, runs straight off my PC power supply(12 volt) without a transformer(not sure if thats the right term)

I do love that magic tube sound though, and as such, i want to somehow get a tube in the signal chain. The best thing that would be if i could DIY a really simple tube preamp to this effect that will run off a 12V supply.

I've looked absolutely everywhere(this forum, and all over the web) for a schematic like this but havent been able to come up with anything.

The closest thing i found that suits my needs is this:
http://www1.jaycar.com.au/productVi...xxx&pageNumber=&priceMin=&priceMax=&SUBCATID=