• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Hi; i am new to tubes

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

my name is Yehonatn (Johnatan)
i am 22 years old from israel

i just recently started to be intrested in tube amplifier, after i heard one of my friend's uncle talking about it and how go they sound

i would like to have one of my own, but i want to build it also

the problem is there is so much information and i dont know where to start

what i a preamp, and when i need it

how to choose the amplifier the is good for my need (hearing music and movies - i am using a turntable, sherwood cd, music and dvd from my pc)

i would appreciate if you could give me some help with that, and guide me.

about the electrical circuits, well my father and my friends will help me although i do have some knowledge and experience building a simple kits (but not tubes)

i know i sound like a lamer of something like that but i really want to know and learn
(my friend tells me to go and buy a regular home video system but i really want something i made)

Thank you very much
Mary Christmas :) :xmastree: and Happy Hanuka...

Yehonatan.

Hi Yehonatn,

Welcome to diyAudio, and paticularly to the Tubes forum, which is my favourite :)

You are right: So much information. But half the fun is sifting through the information and understanding it.
There are many different viewpoints expressed there. You will have to form your own opinions.

My opinion is that the fewer stages a signal passes through, the better. For me, a preamp has no place (in an ideal world), except as a source selector and volume control. And these can be passive.

Happy Hanuka,
merry Christmas,
and,
Yuletide greetings...