• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Active valve monitors?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

im currently a final year student and planning to make my final year project based around active valve monitors. This is a new concept for me and was wondering if i could get some help with questions i have!!

The design i wanted for example would be 2 or 3 way active valve monitors (a pair of them).

My initial idea was to have the bass driver using its own separate amp that does not use any valve components (FET amp kit) and tweeter (for 2 way) to be powered by a valve amp kit. iv done a little research and it does not seem impossible!! :scratch1:

i know its not guna simple to make and thats why i need some input and help!!

also i would need some sort of active cross over for the highs and lows before the signal goes to the active amps??

also im trying to devise a way of powering my active monitors with one power source for each monitor ( like 1 or 2 transformers for all components) if this can be done ...

iv looked at some amp kits using valves and others using FET amplifiers

this seems to me that this circuitry can be combined to make the final result im after ( valve and ??

obviously this seems a little bold for my project, but i would love to know if this can be achieved..

please could people get back to me on this one as i would be most great full and any input is a bonus at this stage!!

many thanks EbanX:):)

Young man, you present the membership with a VERY thorny problem. :sigh:

As a student, you rate to have highly limited financial resources. Tube/valve electronics cost more to execute than SS. :nod: