Tube amp to drive 4 ohm headphones? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th July 2013, 06:36 PM   #1
Speakerholic
diyAudio Member

Default Tube amp to drive 4 ohm headphones?

Thanks for clicking in!

I am new to the tube amp world, but would like to learn enough to one day build my own. I have to start somewhere however, and I need to drive an experimental set of headphones I am building based on the Neo3 PDRW tweeters over in this thread. To my displeasure I have discovered all of the various amps I can find on the internet aren't "rated" anywhere near down to the 4 ohm impedance of the neo3s. I don't want to introduce distortion or melt the amp. The good news is however, as they are isodynamic planer drivers, the impedance not only never drops below 4 ohms, but is actually entirely flat across the board. Virtually zero dips or peeks whatsoever. From what I do know about amps in general, this makes them easier to drive than a conventional cone, but their extremely-low-for-headphones impedance is making me nervous. Also, they are very sensitive and I need something with a very low noise floor to test them properly. I'm not looking for anything amazing at the moment, just something to tweak them and finish them out. I'd like to not spend hundreds of dollars right now if possible, although I'd certainly be willing to in the future!

I appreciate any advice!
Old 12th July 2013, 07:28 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default amp for 4 ohm headphones

You won't find a "headphone amp" that has 4 ohm capability because by definition a headphone amp is designed to handle the much higher impedance of headphones, anywhere from 40 to 600 ohms.