• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tube amp to drive 4 ohm headphones?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thanks for clicking in!

I am new to the tube amp world, but would like to learn enough to one day build my own. I have to start somewhere however, and I need to drive an experimental set of headphones I am building based on the Neo3 PDRW tweeters over in this thread. To my displeasure I have discovered all of the various amps I can find on the internet aren't "rated" anywhere near down to the 4 ohm impedance of the neo3s. I don't want to introduce distortion or melt the amp. The good news is however, as they are isodynamic planer drivers, the impedance not only never drops below 4 ohms, but is actually entirely flat across the board. Virtually zero dips or peeks whatsoever. From what I do know about amps in general, this makes them easier to drive than a conventional cone, but their extremely-low-for-headphones impedance is making me nervous. Also, they are very sensitive and I need something with a very low noise floor to test them properly. I'm not looking for anything amazing at the moment, just something to tweak them and finish them out. I'd like to not spend hundreds of dollars right now if possible, although I'd certainly be willing to in the future!

I appreciate any advice!

amp for 4 ohm headphones

You won't find a "headphone amp" that has 4 ohm capability because by definition a headphone amp is designed to handle the much higher impedance of headphones, anywhere from 40 to 600 ohms.