diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   Akido preamp suggestions. (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/236070-akido-preamp-suggestions.html)

Sprags 16th May 2013 05:19 AM

Akido preamp suggestions.

Hello all,

Audiogon led me to someone selling an Akido line stage preamp which led me to a review which led me to a kit web site.

I would really like to get myself into actually building a kit. The kit sells for $150 - a power supply, chassis and cover and controls. The kit even includes the tubes and a book of building suggestions and schematics. In the he says it cost him something like $400 total to build this kit.

I already have a preamp but for some reason there is something about it I just don't like.

Can someone tell if this Akido preamp kit would be a godd starter piece of audio equipment for me to get started with? I work as a manufacturing engineer ...it's just that electronics still baffle me because I can't see anything move when electricity runs through wires and the only time I know something is when I see smoke or smell something burning. I'll try to find the first kink and would appreciate any comments...even mean ones.
Blake

Sprags 16th May 2013 05:23 AM

Here is the link that got me interested:

REVIEW: Glass-Ware Aikido Line Stage Kit Preamplifier (Tube) - amioutaline? - Amp/Preamp Asylum

Please let me know if this is something a complete newbie can do if I take my time?

Thank again....Blake

Passinwind 16th May 2013 05:45 AM