Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th April 2013, 05:52 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Newbie wants to build SET 6C33C

First of all HI to everybody in the forum. Some background first. I have a degree as industrial designer and made some undergraduate studies in electronics engineering (never graduated), so I can do some math and can tell the difference between a resistor and a capacitor. I love tubes, I have a Cayin A-50T with EL-34 tubes and some other tube stuff. As everybody else here I want to start building some tube gear, so I can learn really how this stuff works.

I have decided I want to build a 6C33C SET amp. that can deliver around 12 watts, that way I can use the amp with 90dB sensitivity speakers. I want it to have a bandwidth of at least 20hz - 28khz. I hate hum, so it must be canceled in some way. Distortion must be below below 2% at normal power. I am not a purist so I think I will use a solid state power source, and I have no problem in using transistors of MOSFETs to regulate currents in the circuit. I don't want solid state components in the sound path.
  • I would like to know if this requirements can be met? or am I kidding myself?
  • Can someone in the forum send me drawings of 6C33C SET amps already built, so I can take a look at the designs.
  • What driver tubes are recommended to be used with the 6C33C?
  • I can't build the transformers. Are there any commercially available transformers I can use for this project?
Any information is welcomed. Regards,
Julian
Old 30th April 2013, 06:41 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default 6S33S