50W PP - KT88 Build - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th April 2013, 12:24 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 50W PP - KT88 Build

Good Day my Fellow Vintage Followers

After many hours of browsing, looking and Trolling I have decided to take the tumble and build my own amplifier. I am no Audiophile, nor a Valve expert. I am a new age Electronic Engineer..

My first introduction was from Gio Militano and his OddWatt Kit he build with KT88 and 5751 (Very nice Gio).

I ordered my KT88 Genalex Golden Lions and Electro Harmonics 5751. But after many hours of looking at the OddWatt design I must say the design concept just alludes me. Thus I searched more and found many different designs like the Noavolta, Williamson and many more. These amplifiers is bit more understandable and follow design topology I am more familiar with.

I have also found that you can have a single ended or a Push pull configuration. As I have a set of KEF Q5 series speakers and the Single ended design would not be able to deliver the power (unless you look at parallel), thus I have settled for a Push-Pull Configuration (50Watt)

I am about to start my Chassis design but currently contemplating my Transformers selection and can not make decide if I would go mono block (3 boxes) or stereo setup(1 box)... As we al know weight do increase if you choose one enclosure...

I also can not seem to decide on my Transformer manufacturer or topology
1) Edcor
2) Hammond
Or do I go with Toroidal Power and Normal Output Transformers.. Or keep all Toroidal or keep all Normal...