• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Somewhat Newbie..

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'm not new to electronics in any way but I am to valves. I while ago I got the chance to listen to a friends valve amp on my Yamaha Ns-1000 M's and gosh altho I like my Sansui 9090-DB I would like to build a valve amp.

Now I have PCB manufacturing falsities, all the tools so forth but I dont know where to start in terms of a good circuit for my speakers... I would like an amp that will run them stress free but not too loud and needs to be diy. I have experience in High voltage AC circuits and circuit design but I have no experience in valves :( Any thoughts on a circut to build?

Cheers,
Thomas Fuller

The Sansui 9090 DB is a 120 WPC brute of a receiver. In proper repair, it's a nice sounding piece of equipment. The Japanese, in that 1970s time frame, which preceded the era of numbers insanity, did an awful lot right, including: metal (not plastic), discrete O/P parts (not ICs), reasonable (not outrageous) levels of NFB, and attractive prices.

Given the fact that tube amps have smaller damping factors than SS amps, a quick look at the uploaded impedance curve suggests it might be prudent to treat those Yamaha speakers as being 6 Ω and derate them to 88 dB. sensitive. Good control of the woofer voice coil is quite important in avoiding "sloppy" bass.

Per Paul Joppa's 102 dB. rule of thumb, amps of 30 or so WPC will be suitable. Push/pull circuitry built around either the EL34/6CA7/KT77 group or 7591s yields the power necessary.

Call me "chicken", but I would mount the Octal sockets on sheet metal, not FR4. Small signal circuitry on well executed PCBs is fine.