30W sweep tube amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th April 2013, 08:09 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 30W sweep tube amp

Howdy, Folks:

While not new to tubes, I am relatively new to the DIY hobby of designing and building tube amplifiers.
I have been in the downhole oil/gas industry for several decades, designing high temperature analog and power electronics, with the added requirement of very high reliability (which flies in the face of the high temperature, fun, huh!!).
Wanted to do something challenging and a little different. After reading numerous vintage articles (Crowhurst and the likes), I have decided to go the UL route. After looking at many candidate tubes, the sweep and RF transmitter tubes started to make a lot of sense. Finally have settled on the 6CB5 (after seriously considering the 1625, 12V version of the 807). Had to design a simulation tool to investigate its transfer and plate curves for UL operation, that was fun in itself.
Anyway, nothing concrete yet except for the overall topology of full differential from the input to the output transformer, as much DC coupling as possible and lots of local feedback loops, with no loop covering more than one RC constant.
Solid state CCS don't bother me a bit, they will be used instead of pentodes (no concerns about heater/cathode potentials plus lower minimum voltage) and modern SMPS for heater and likely +B.
I'll be concerned more about proper circuit design, things like operating points, phase shifts, levels, in short, the basics all around.