• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First power amp build. Is this normal??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Today, I've wired together my first tube power amp. a bit nerve wrecking I might add :D. Two KT88's PP (for now, will be four later on) driven by a ECC99 PI into a Hammond 1650T in ultra linear mode. Attached image is the result into a 4 ohm resistive load. There's no global feedback at the moment and bias is set to -60V. B+ is 410 volts. I'm still a noob, but can't imagine the crossover distortion measured to be normal! The signal going into the KT88s is fine (blue line). What's the reason for this distortion? No feedback? Bias to low? It's a learning experience so any help is welcomed. Thanks.
screen_9-4-2013_22.19.56.png

That there is cross-over distortion, Dr. Funkenstein.

That's one of the chief reasons we have negative feedback in amplifier design of the push-pull PP type. It is a "gain vampire", stealing many dB of gain (necessarily, and irreducibly), but the consequence is that the output gets all nice-n-cleaned-up.

You also might be biasing too low ... you've got the output tubes working very near cut-off. That aggravates the cross-over distortion curve. So obviously ... you need to "do" at least 1 thing right away (which is "cheap", taking little-to-no work to do).

That would be, to send all us EE/AF types a nice diagram/schematic ... then let us make very specific recommendations as to what to try after that!

Thank me later. GoatGuy