• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

I just inherited a TON of tubes and tube amp components.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently inherited a ton of tubes and tube amp components. I haven't counted yet, but I'm gonna guess over 1000 tubes, cabinets full of capacitors, resistors, chokes, transformers, tools, etc. Plus a bunch of antique radios and misc. electronics. I've got boxes full of NOS tubes by Tung-Sol, Sylvania, GE, RCA, Realistic, Philco, Truetone, Ken-Rad, and more.

Both my Grandfather and Great Grandfather were radio and TV repairmen. Lots of this stuff dates back to the 30's and 40's. I'm a musician, so I've always been interested in tube amps, but never have learned how to build them or work on them extensively....Now I'm gonna learn.

I want to start by converting this 1956 Motorola HS-544 amp into a guitar amp. It's old and might need tubes and caps, but I think that will be a good starting point. I would like to make it into a guitar head with a 15" speaker cabinet.

Any help and suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

B3finga,

Run a Google search on NEETS. NEETS is U.S. Navy training stuff and will get you started in acquiring the requisite background theory.

BTW, there's a good chance that any electrolytic caps. in the "pile" have literally dried out, with the passage of time. However it costs next to nothing to try reforming those parts. It is possible to luck out.