Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th February 2013, 09:34 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question DuMont Stereo Tube Console late 50's - What to do?

Hello everybody.

I am new here, by profession I am electronics engineer, but never worked with tubes as professional, although audio (up to now - discrete and IC only) has always been my passion

I recently bought from Craiglist old DuMont Stereo Console, late 50's, solid wood, all-tube design. ALL WORKS, just usual scratch on pots.
My initial intention was to use it as a separate AM/FM/Receiver or even just as small tube amp. So I opened the box and started investigating what I've bought, made some photos and have discovered the complete paperwork inside (no exact date of manufacturing, though), including schematic.
The fact I've discovered so far about it:
1. The Console as a whole is in outstanding cosmetic condition - just few scratches on the corners, but otherwise looks like new - old lady I bought it from was first and the only owner. The original labels says:
DUMONT TELEVISIONS & RADIO Montreal, Canada, Model DS-136. Google gave me nothing on that...
2. The turntable is BSR (Birmingham Sound Reproducers) Made in Great Britain - pretty ubiquitous old timer brand for low-end turntables. It's automatic, with ceramic cartridge which sounds terrible in the condition it is now. Cartridge is BSR N-50, needle type - 133 - absolutely NO INFO about the replacement of these...