Diy Phono stage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th November 2003, 04:39 PM   #1
pete.a is offline pete.a  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Question Diy Phono stage

Hi,

Doe's anyone know of a phono stage using 6922/ecc88. Im pouring over Bruce Rosenblit'z book at present, but it looks a bit too much to build. Not so sure about all that voltage rattling around ! And don't worry im an electrician by trade, so schematics would be usefull.
Old 19th November 2003, 06:29 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

here you can find a phono stage made with the 6DJ8-ECC88, the 6922 have some better performance but is the same tube

http://web.tiscali.it/audiofanatic3/...Valvolari.html

ciao
Filippo
www.audiofanatic.it
Old 19th November 2003, 10:21 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Diy Phono stage

Quote:
Originally posted by pete.a
Doe's anyone know of a phono stage using 6922/ecc88.
I've built this one. It's definitely the best single ended phono amp I've ever heard, and by no small margin.
Attached Images
File Type: gif fvp5a.gif (38.6 KB, 1628 views)
Old 20th November 2003, 01:24 AM   #4
diyAudio Senior Member

Hi,

To me it still looks as a desperate attempt from an otherwise brilliant designer; it says to me: I wasn't able to solve that part so I resorted to a FET.

Good sounding as it may, it's still a failure to me.

And that's just my opinion.

Cheers,
Old 20th November 2003, 04:30 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by fdegrove
To me it still looks as a desperate attempt from an otherwise brilliant designer; it says to me: I wasn't able to solve that part so I resorted to a FET.

Good sounding as it may, it's still a failure to me.