• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

stupid first-timer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Well a few days ago I finally got all the parts for my amp together and started soldering it together. At first it didn't work, but that's because I blew the fuse without realising it. Anyway, I started playing around with it and I was getting the correct voltages out of the transformer and the heaters worked fine. Then I plugged in the rectifier tube, a 5y3gt, and ran into some trouble.
I'd like to say first that I don't know what the rectifier should have done, this having been my first tube project. I plugged in the rectifier with the other tube sockets empty and the rectifier started glowing orange at the base, then the flat part on top turned blue and one of the big verticle things (the plates?) started glowing bright orange. The other one didn't glow at all, so I figured something was wrong, but I didn't know which side.
I played around with the wires for a while, making sure everything was correct and it was. Well the bright orange piece made me think it was getting too much voltage, so I reversed the wires going from the transformer to the tube plate--filament thinking they may have been done backwards with the 275v secondary going to the filament. After a second or two of running that way, the tube didn't do anything, but the transformer smelled like burning and the 5v secondary wires started melting their insulation.
Now the transformer just buzzes and gets really, really hot if i turn it on attached to anything or not, so I'm assuming it's gone.

So what should the rectifier have done when I turned it on? Should it have been glowing orange and blue like it was?