Best kit for a rookie tube builder - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th January 2013, 08:17 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Best kit for a rookie tube builder

Hello all!

While not a rookie when it comes to building electronics projects, I am a rookie when it comes to building tube amplifiers. I'm posting a new thread requesting some help from the veterans out there. I realize that this type of thread may be a popular one, but, after reading many of them, I didn't feel like I found a good suggestion for my specific goals. So, I guess I should go about explaining said goals.

I'm looking for a tube amplifier kit to be the centerpiece of a small stereo system that I would like to build for my apartment. As I am going to be using this system in my apartment, I don't need a ton of power. I would like good audio quality, and as cheap an amp as possible. I would ideally like to be able to keep the total expenditure for the amp to < $300. (The cheaper the better, as I'm a poor student).

I've done a lot of perusing and have seen the offerings from s5 electronics, Glassware, Oddwatt, and Tubelab. I'm essentially looking for a suggestion as to which kit from these companies (or others!) would be a good choice for my particular application.

Thank in advance!

(FYI, I realize that I've got a lot of learning to do, and have just purchased the Morgan Jones Valve Amplifiers, and Building Valve Amplifier books to get up to speed).
Old 19th January 2013, 08:56 PM   #2
diyAudio Member