• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

DIY Fisher 800b into a mic pre

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys, total noob here. I have an almost mint condition Fisher 800b hi-fi amplifier that I want to convert into a mic pre. Beyond recapping it, I really don't know what else I'll need to do--though I imagine it is quite a lot.

Anyone have any ideas on how to help make this conversion happen?

Why on earth would you want to vandalize a fine vintage piece, which can play music far, far, better than current mass market guano? All of the power supply SS diodes need to be replaced with modern, low noise parts. All electrolytic caps. need replacement. The signal caps. may still be good. Carbon composition resistors need to be checked for drift out of tolerance. Watch your step around the tuner sections, lest you create an alignment issue. Talk to Jim McShane about tubes and parts. Jim can provide what you need to make the power supply BETTER than it originally was.

Left side of 800B schematic. Right side of 800B schematic.

Why on earth would you want to vandalize a fine vintage piece, which can play music far, far, better than current mass market guano? All of the power supply SS diodes need to be replaced with modern, low noise parts. All electrolytic caps. need replacement. The signal caps. may still be good. Carbon composition resistors need to be checked for drift out of tolerance. Watch your step around the tuner sections, lest you create an alignment issue. Talk to Jim McShane about tubes and parts. Jim can provide what you need to make the power supply BETTER than it originally was.

Left side of 800B schematic. Right side of 800B schematic.